Indigenous Scholarships

/Indigenous Scholarships
Indigenous Scholarships2019-02-22T03:01:05+00:00

Indigenous Students

Each year, AST provides a number of scholarships to students of indigenous origins to support their further education. The AST Indigenous Scholarship selection committee receives a number of applications and six scholarships were granted at an awards ceremony held at Bendigo Senior Secondary College to students at Year 10, 11, 12 and 1st year tertiary. For more information, contact AAG’s Schools Engagement Officer on 5445 9800.

Scholarships worth $1,000 were awarded to six local young Indigenous students at a special presentation ceremony held on 1 June in the Ulumbarra Theatre to celebrate Reconciliation Week. The awards assist them to continue their education and to provide support in career paths and options.

As a not for profit organisation focused on achieving employment and training outcomes for people facing barriers to employment, Access Australia Group engages with the local Indigenous community. Our work has shown an Indigenous Scholarship program benefits Indigenous students. AST works with local leaders in the Indigenous community to provide a reference panel for the scholarship program. This is the fifth year the program has been available to students in our local schools with AST allocating in excess of $26,000 toward the scholarships

Following an application process, six young Indigenous students showed the selection panel an investment in their education will enable them to gainfully continue their education in pursuit of further training and educational outcomes.

Chairman of the Board of AST Neville Sharpe Tess, Brodie, Adal, Liam, Georgia, Maryanne, CEO Dr Michael Langdon & Schools Engagement Officer for AST Tom Blake.
The successful applicants receiving their certificates were:
  • Tess Carter – Weeroona College Bendigo, Year 10
  • Liam Carter – BSSC, Year 12
  • Brodie Valli – Eaglehawk SC, Year 10
  • Adal Zuk – Eaglehawk SC, Year 10
  • Georgia Radford – BSSC, Year 12
  • Maryanne Thalasinos – BSSC, Year 12
Congratulations to all our indigenous students who have received these scholarships.